Black Hymns I

There was a time father

when you loved me.

 

You wrote my name down

on your pillow at night.

 

You told me your bedtime

stories without a yawn

 

and you sang my song

before the dawn.

 

Father, I remember your

six o’clock swill and you falling

pissed into the cat tray at night.

 

You took me to your place of work,

a newspaper, feral on the ink, with a

smell that got lost in your veins.

 

And our birthdays were

on the same day and month.

 

When I was twenty- one

You were fifty.

 

We were Librans circling each

other like distant planets on the run.

 

And mercy’s hand you held out to me

all those moons ago

 

when I was so busy

being young.

 

There was a time father

when you loved me,

 

 

you didn’t need a Bible,

no words of wisdom

 

from God’s holy mouth,

the dark star of your hopes,

I was your sweet pagan

child running wild.

 

Oh father, there was a time

when you loved me, and I will

 

sing my black hymn to you,

till we meet by the edge

of light.

3 thoughts on “Black Hymns I

  1. This one and Black Hymns II struck me. Really, made me tear up! Ok, you see my father died when I was 18, (I wrote a poem for him on my blog “Grayer than Gray Noon”).. Be back to read the rest of your writings, I’m just having a break while at work

    Like

  2. just on your comments, i think from my perspective Hymn poems are some of my best, interesting when just fly pass it…for me its about mood, construction, feeling, truth etc..as for my father, well it wasn’t a good relationship but he certainly left an imprint…just musing cheers

    Like

Leave a Reply

