Blessings

Tripping to Earth’s sounds and wonder

I have glimpsed eternity and felt its silent roar.

 

I have heard a tree sing on my evening

stroll downtown.

 

I have felt the invisible hand of a child

touch my crazy wanderlust soul.

 

I have smelled death in the living on the hair of

my Benedictus girl.

 

I have placed a candle via an old Babushka’s

hand as the Berlin Wall fell down.

 

I have heard the call to prayer from a

haunted desert crying while my mother lay

slowly dying.

 

I have felt the whisper in my ear, ‘don’t worry’,

while around me War.

 

I have danced in Zikr chanting Allah Hu as the

waves crashed wild on the sundown shore.

 

I have chanted the psalms before the frosted

Dawn.

 

I have seen a Buddhist monk bow in blessing

on a calm summers day and felt the rage of

God humble and break me yet more.

Now

 

I move more slowly to catch these

precious calls.

Leave a Reply

