We shall meet at the edge of light

There was a time father

When you loved me

 

You wrote my name down

On your pillow at night

 

You told me your bedtime

Stories without a yawn

 

And you sang my song

Before the dawn

 

Father I remember your

Six o’clock swill you falling

 

In the cat tray at night

You knew how to use your tongue

 

Cut and thrust, whip and burn,

Whip and burn, I am the emperor

 

In this house you raged

 

There was a time father

When you loved me

 

You didn’t need a Bible

No words of wisdom

 

From God’s holy mountain

 

I was your sweet pagan

Child running wild

 

Oh father there was a time

When you loved me

 

And when I die we shall meet

At the edge of light

2 thoughts on “We shall meet at the edge of light

Leave a Reply

