What’s in a name

I had spent a month living in the ashram

A month living in a tiny hut with spiders,

Bats, cockroaches, grasshoppers, mosquitoes,

And who knows what else,

 

A month in a hut that was originally designed

To be a toilet, so one of the monks told me,

 

A month eating rice, morning, day, and night,

A month stumbling through the underbrush at dawn

Regardless of the possibility that the place was crawling

With snakes,

 

A month of constant prayer and introspection in

Every

Shape manner and form,

 

A month of heavenly nirvana where all things

Co-existed as if God himself had designed

This place

 

And well he did,

 

No

 

I needed some respite.

I needed a drink

 

And I’m not talking water,

 

So

 

Off to town I go in a crazy bus watching Tamil

Movies with people making more noise

 

In a second than I had experienced in a month.

 

I wanted to play up so I headed for a hotel

With the wonderful name of

 

Jenny’s Residence.

 

Heaven a 4 star reality and it had a bar.

 

The bar had those Wild West doors you

See in cowboy movies.

Entering I found the bar had

Its walls covered in Clint ‘hang em high’ Eastwood

Paraphernalia.

 

I was in desperate need of a beer, and the barman

Served me the coldest beer since I left Australia,

 

Heaven on a stick!

 

After a while the barman enquired

My good name,

 

And I said my good name is Ken,

What’s yours?

 

He was in his mid-twenties,

 

And with a straight face,

 

And while the television blared a cricket match,

With Australia playing South Africa, and

 

With his eyes steady without even a hint of a smile,

 

He said,

 

My name is Joseph Stalin

And when I’m not serving beers

 

I go to university studying economics!

 

Oh India I love you so…

2 thoughts on “What’s in a name

Leave a Reply

