Room 307

9 pm

 

Summer nights hot howl

Shattered glass I opened

The door to the gates of hell

Towered over by

My glowering monster

This black eyed being

Brandishing his weapon

Ready to send me back

To the bowels of the earth

His eyes raging blood

His mouth dripping hates

‘Don’t try to placate me’

Came his scream

That shook the walls and there

I stood A Buddha as all the weapons

Of Mara fell useless to my feet

‘Don’t worry, I said,

I’m here to pick up the glass’

And afterwards outside

I fell to the ground

And wept for I had looked

Into the eyes of evil itself

Though perhaps

He was my reflection

He my mirror clean

And over time I decided

I would kill my monster

With kindness and poetry

And at night I would read him

Shelly and Keats

Till all I saw a

Smile.

2 thoughts on “Room 307

  1. Reminds me of a Buddhist banner that once hung in my father’s room reading ‘The world is a looking glass. It gives back to every man a true reflection of his inner thoughts. Rule your mind or it will rule you’.

    Like

Leave a Reply

