Boogie Street

Boogie Street Singapore 1978

Hot and sweating trolling the night

A sex-starved animal

Waiting to pounce

My friend said, ‘hey this place

Looks good lets try here’

The night was getting dark

As we descended into an even

Darker cellar

Asian girls danced to Bowie wearing

Nothing but napkins it was all so sad

Sad for them and sad for me

I had descended into some sort of animal

What sort I hadn’t decided

A girl came over and sat on my lap an

Agreement and money paid for thirty

Minutes

No conversation just flesh pressing

Flesh as empty as my perennial

Addictions

I hear they made a parking lot of

Boogie Street

They should have made a parking lot

Of me.

Leave a Reply

