A genius of God

Shantivanam days by the holy Kaveri River

Meditation in the Guru’s hut 4am

 

Torchlight guides me along the jungle path

Old man greets me with ‘Jesus is coming for you’

 

6am bell tolls for prayer

 

I stagger covered by mosquito repellent

Head to foot-my shawl covers me like a monk

I sit cross-legged to Christ Buddha in the cave

I cling to silent desperation

 

Here no beat madness

No curving of time to something I never was

No worship at the altar of hip

 

I sit with my sanyassin friend

His eyes are founts of light

 

A divine cadence sings his mysterious spirit

 

No need to speak- no brag-

He was a genius of God.

Leave a Reply

