Kashi

I stood up and went to the window

The Ghats were teeming with people

 

I took out a cigarette

 

Turning I watched her lying on the bed

Her body curving inwards like a child

In the womb

 

On the floor lay our tangled clothes

By the bed stood a used chillum

 

Suddenly I realised my search for

God was not for salvation or even

Enlightenment

 

My search was for beauty

Not something diseased I felt

Inside myself

 

God my nakedest self

A wild dangerous light

 

On the bed she looked beautiful

Her white country smelling of

Hash and musk

 

On the Ghats sadhus sit Intoxicated to the ash and

Death.

Leave a Reply

