Dancing with myself

I woke up that morning

Speaking in a foreign tongue

Weird feelings overcame me

I began speaking in Pali

Reciting some ancient Buddhist text-

My teacher said these things

Are just sensations

Let them go!

But I was convinced I had entered Into a new world

A world I knew so well

And these men who walked around me

Damn it I know them!

In the evening I sat down on the trampled grass

And watched the mountains

Light was turning into dark silence emerging out of sound

While

I reached out and touched those mountains with my hand

God said hey don’t worry It’s real friend

Come dance with me.

Leave a Reply

